Monday, November 13, 2017

Announcement: College of Europe application period 2018-2019 started, scholarship opportunities and more

Deadline: January 17, 2018

Click here to learn more and apply!

All applicants to the College must hold a relevant university degree. Candidates must submit a formal application for admission, which consists of an online application.

Applications need to be submitted with all the requested supporting documents before the closing date. All applicants, including students who do not apply for a scholarship, must indicate their selection committee (in principle according to their nationality) in the application form. Should there be no selection committee, please select 'No selection committee - College of Europe'. This does not apply to MATA applicants (Master in Transatlantic Affairs).

Recommendation letters are in the form of online recommendation questionnaires that are automatically sent to your nominated referees via email through your online application.

Monday, November 6, 2017

CFA: 16th Annual Claremont-UC Undergraduate Research Conference on the European Union

Deadline: February 16, 2018

The European Union Center of California at Scripps College is pleased to announce that we are now accepting online applications for the 16th Annual Claremont-UC Undergraduate Research Conference on the European Union, which will take place on April 5 & 6, 2018 on Scripps Campus in Claremont, CA.

The purpose of the conference is to enhance undergraduate knowledge and interest in the European Union. The conference is open to all undergraduate students in the US and internationally. Students may pursue a wide range of topics that reflects their curiosity, expertise, and past research. Topics may deal with any aspect of European integration or transatlantic relations. Select papers will be published in a special volume of conference proceedings and two students will receive travel awards for the week long Brussels Summer Study trip.

Applications are due February 16. Additional information is available at: Please see the attached conference poster. You may contact us at (909) 607-8103 or

Sincere Regards,
European Union Center of California, Scripps College

CFA: Council for European Studies Newsletter

Deadline: February 1, 2018

The European Studies Undergraduate Project Prize is designed to encourage interest and collaborative, interdisciplinary work in the field of European Studies by rewarding talented undergraduates who have conducted original research in the field. The European Studies Undergraduate Project Prize is awarded to the best research paper written in English on any subject in European Studies as part of an undergraduate university degree program. Projects that incorporate another discipline and a second contributor are strongly encouraged.

Two prizes will be awarded in 2018. A multi-disciplinary selection committee appointed by CES’ Executive Committee will choose the winners. Each winner (or winning collaborative team) will receive a check for $500, along with public recognition in CES’ European Studies Newsletter, and on CES’ social media sites. As well, the winning project will be featured in EuropeNow Campus, the educational corner of EuropeNow, CES’ online journal of research, art, and politics relating to Europe that reaches over 100,000 readers globally. In addition, prize winners who are interested in attending the CES conference may request one conference registration fee waiver for any conference in the three years following their award.

For application instructions, visit here:

Friday, October 20, 2017

CFA: Emerging Democracies Postdoctoral Fellowship

Deadline: January 15, 2017

Fellowship period: September 2018 – August 2020

The Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies (WCED) at the University of Michigan invites postdoctoral scholars to apply for the Emerging Democracies Postdoctoral Fellowship. The two-year fellowship supports research on the broad historical, political, economic, and societal conditions under which democracies emerge—and autocracies endure. 

We welcome excellent applicants from all disciplines. Eligibility is restricted to those who have received their PhD after January 1, 2016.

The application instructions are available at Inquiries may be sent to

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

College of Europe E-Newsletter

issue 3 | October 2017

 NewsEventsLife at the College

On 28 September 2017, the College of Europe and the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, Tufts University (Medford, MA), inaugurated their new joint Master of Arts in Transatlantic Affairs (MATA) programme with a special event in Bruges.

© 2017 College of Europe|Disclaimer|Join the College of Europe on facebooktwitter and LinkedIn

To subscribe to the College of Europe e-newsletters please click on the following link.